Editors Canada honorary life members

Honorary life membership is a discretionary honour that may be awarded to Editors Canada members who have made an exceptionally valuable contribution to the association.

The following people had been awarded honorary life membership in the association. All were rewarded for multiple significant contributions (not all of which are noted below).


Heather Ebbs

As of 2018, an Editors Canada national and branch volunteer for 33 years—every year she has been a member of the association. Former president of Editors Canada and member of the certification steering, marketing and public relations, newsletter and publications committees. 

Moira White

Long-time member and volunteer at the national and branch levels. Past national president and chair of Editors Ottawa–Gatineau (formerly the National Capital Region branch). Past leader of many national committees and task forces, including the professional standards task force, which delivered the 2016 edition of Professional Editorial Standards.


Nancy Flight

Long-time mentor of editors and dedicated volunteer. Served on development teams for the Editors Canada professional certification program and Professional Editorial Standards 2009, overseeing creation of separate standards for stylistic editing. Sat on the Editors Canada national executive council for 11 years, including 2 terms as national president. Former chair of Editors British Columbia, frequent participant in juries and panels, conference presenter and course instructor.


Greg Ioannou

Played a major role in forming (F)EAC and had, over the years, a crucial impact into expanding a Toronto group into a cross-Canada association of 1,500 members.


Louis Majeau

Integral in the creation of the association’s French-language editorial standards, Principes directeurs en révision professionnelle. Commended for his remarkable and sustained volunteer involvement, and for his dedication to representing francophone affairs within EAC.


Maureen Nicholson

Set the standard for EAC’s annual conference after she organized the association’s successful 2000 conference in Vancouver; played a major role in developing the policies and procedures that shaped EAC Certification; as EAC president, she focused the executive council on its strategic goals and wrote many of the association’s national policies.


Anita Jenkins

A mentor, coach and encourager of young talent; a tireless maker of lists and recruiter of volunteers; and a leader who sets a fine example and invites others to follow.


Jonathan Paterson

Participated in the review, design and desktop publishing of Meeting Editorial Standards and revision of Professional Editorial Standards (2000); first chair of EAC’s Certification Committee; served on the Subcommittee on French Standards; QAC branch chair 1995–97; strong supporter of bilingualism in EAC.


Claudette Reed Upton

Provided long service and leadership to the BC branch; as national vice-president, led the Accreditation Committee, which examined the pros and cons of certification and recommended it to the membership.


Lee d’Anjou

Led the group that developed both Professional Editorial Standards and Meeting Editorial Standards; drafted the editorial definitions that form the appendix of the Standard Freelance Editorial Agreement.


Jim Taylor

Sparked the call for professional standards; fostered the idea of membership open to all Canadian editors, freelance or in-house; and chaired the Structural Review Committee, which led eventually to the national–branch system.


Lydia Burton

Played a lead role in developing Editing Canadian English; served as [F]EAC’s representative on the board of the Canadian Give the Gift of Literacy Foundation.


Francess Halpenny

Edited the National Dictionary of Biography and was an early supporter of the association within the profession.


Maggie MacDonald

Contributed foundation-laying work as the association’s first president; edited and hand-indexed the first two editions of the Directory of Editors.


Please send nominations for honorary life membership to the awards coordinator.

Nominees must be current or lapsed members of the association who, in the course of their membership, have made an outstanding contribution to the work or welfare of the association. Their leadership motivates others to become involved in professional activities. 

For further information about criteria and evaluation, please refer to the Honorary Life Membership Policy and Procedures.

Honorary life membership evaluation committee

Jonathan Paterson
Lesley Cameron
Anne Louise Mahoney
Kristine Buchholtz
Roma Ilnyckyj
Marianne Grier

To top