Editors Canada announces 2021 national awards and scholarship recipients


Toronto, June 28, 2021—The Editors’ Association of Canada (Editors Canada) has presented 5 national awards, including more than $6,500 in prizes, to 26 recipients.

Editors Canada’s annual awards recognize exceptional editors for their talent and dedication. The association supports the professional development of editors throughout their careers, and is proud to honour the outstanding editors and students in its midst. The cash awards are made possible by Editors Canada and its generous donors.

Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence

Headshot of Shirarose Wilensky

Shirarose Wilensky (Port Moody, British Columbia) received the 2021 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence. Wilensky was awarded the $2,000 prize for her work on Butter Honey Pig Bread by Francesca Ekwuyasi (Arsenal Pulp Press).

Read more.

Claudette Upton Scholarship

Headshot of Lindsay Hobbs

Lindsay Hobbs (Minden, Ontario) received the 2021 Claudette Upton Scholarship. Hobbs is a student in the Simon Fraser University Editing Certificate program, a copy editor, and the founder of the Topaz Literary blog and the Story Girls podcast. She was awarded the $1,000 prize to help support her continuing professional development in editing.

Read more.

Karen Virag Award

Editors Canada will not present the Karen Virag Award in 2021 due to a lack of nominations. This marks the first year the award will not be presented since it was created in 2014 and first awarded in 2016.

This $400 award was created in memory of long-time association member Karen Virag, and in recognition of her many contributions to the profession. The Karen Virag Award recognizes the efforts of an editor or an organization to raise the profile of editing in their community.

Read more.

Equity Fellowship

Headshot of Alicia Elliott
Headshot of Lola Opatayo

Editors Canada awarded the inaugural Equity Fellowship to three recipients:

Shamaila Anjum (Calgary, Alberta) (not pictured)
Alicia Elliott (Brantford, Ontario)
Lola Opatayo (Burnaby, British Columbia)

The Editors Canada Equity Fellowship is designed to support editors who have traditionally been excluded by the publishing and editing industries, including editors who are BIPOC (Black, Indigenous and people of colour), 2SLGBTQIA+, neurodivergent and disabled.

Read more.

Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award

The Editors Canada President’s Award for Volunteer Service recognizes outstanding service to the organization by member volunteers. From among the nominations received for the President’s Award, one nominee is selected to receive the Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award.

Nancy Foran (Toronto, Ontario) was named the Editors Canada Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year for her role coordinating the association’s volunteer translation group.

Among the projects completed by the translation group are the French versions of The Volunteer Handbook (Manuel du bénévole) and The Committee Book (Manuel des comités). Together with the translation group, Foran is being recognized for helping to produce communication in both official languages that will inspire others to get involved in this volunteer-run association.

Recipients of the 2021 President’s Award for Volunteer Service are as follows.

Magalie Allard (Editors Québec)
Agnès André (Editors Québec)
Nicola Aquino (Editors Atlantic)
Marilyn Boake (Editors Calgary)
Charlene Deck (Editors Calgary)
Myriam Gagnon (Editors Québec)
Annette Gingrich (Editors British Columbia)
Becky Heaman (Editors British Columbia)
Lenore Hietkamp (Editors British Columbia)
Natalia Iwanek (Editors Toronto)
Ellen Keeble (Editors Toronto)
S. Robin Larin (Editors Hamilton-Halton)
Paul Neuviale (Editors Toronto)
Becky Noelle (Editors Calgary)
Sophie Pallotta (Editors Québec)
Adriana Paradiso (Editors Toronto)
Marie-Christine Payette (Editors Québec)
Lina Scarpellini (Editors Québec)
Carmen Siu (Editors Toronto)
Anna Williams (Editors Edmonton)

Read more.

– 30 –

About Editors Canada

Additional information about Editors Canada awards can be found online.

Editors Canada began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada to promote and maintain high standards of editing. In 1994, the word “Freelance” was dropped to reflect the association’s expanding focus to serve both freelance and in-house editors. As Canada’s only national editorial association, it is the hub for 1,300 members and affiliates, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, academic, not-for-profit and publishing sectors. The association’s professional development programs and services include professional certification, an annual conference, seminars, webinars, and networking with other associations. Editors Canada has five regional branches: British Columbia; Saskatchewan; Toronto; Ottawa–Gatineau; and Quebec, as well as smaller branches (called twigs) in Atlantic Canada, Barrie, Calgary, Edmonton, Hamilton-Halton, Kingston, Kitchener-Waterloo-Guelph and Manitoba.


Media contact

Michelle Ou
Senior Communications Manager
Editors Canada

To top