Moira White named 2013 Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year


Toronto, June 27, 2013—Ottawa-based editor Moira White is the recipient of the 2013 Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award presented by the Editors’ Association of Canada (EAC).

White, a long-time member of EAC’s National Capital Region branch, began volunteering for the association shortly after joining. For more than a decade she has done everything from stuffing bags at conferences to taking notes for national executive council meetings. In 2007 she was chair of the National Capital Region branch, a member of the national executive council and chair of EAC’s conference committee—a substantial commitment that reflects her willingness to share her time and energy.

She served as president of the Editors’ Association of Canada for two years, and in 2012 became the association’s director of professional standards, a position she will continue to occupy next year.

A belief in giving back to the community is at the root of White’s commitment to volunteerism. She also values the positive impact the work has had in her own life.

“I believe that volunteering for EAC has been tremendous for me, both professionally and personally,” says White. “I have met so many wonderful people in Ottawa and across the country. I have learned so much from many editors who have also volunteered their time and talents.”

Along with continuing a successful freelance editing career, White also shares her professional experience through teaching, crafting an admirable balance of practice, instruction and volunteer work.

From left to Right: Iva Cheung, Anne Curry, Nancy Holland, Valerie Mansour, Brooke Smith and Moira White.
2013 EAC President’s Award recipients (L-R) Iva Cheung, Anne Curry, Nancy Holland, Valerie Mansour, Brooke Smith and Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Moira White.
Photo credit: Tammy Burns

Established in 2010, EAC’s President’s Award for Volunteer Service recognizes outstanding service to the organization by member volunteers.

From among the nominations received for the President’s Award, one nominee is selected to receive the Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award. Recipients of the 2013 President’s Award for Volunteer Service are as follows.

Iva Cheung (Vancouver, BC)
Anne Curry (Wolfville, NS)
Dave Ealey (Edmonton, AB)
Nancy Holland (Dartmouth, NS)
Heather Guylar (Toronto, ON)
Valerie Mansour (Halifax, NS)
Jennifer McMorran (Montreal, QC)
Brooke Smith (Toronto, ON)
Moira White (Ottawa, ON)

– 30 –

About the Editors’ Association of Canada

Lee d’Anjou is a founding member of the Editors’ Association of Canada and remains a guiding force in the association. She is a champion of professional standards of editing, a pioneer of EAC’s certification program and one of the association’s most recognized and outstanding volunteers.

Additional information about EAC’s President’s Award for Volunteer Service and the Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award can be found at

The Editors’ Association of Canada/Association canadienne des réviseurs began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada to promote and maintain high standards of editing. EAC is the voice of editors in Canada, with more than 1,500 members, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, not-for-profit and publishing sectors. EAC’s professional development programs and services include professional certification, an annual conference, seminars, guidelines for fair pay and working conditions, and networking with other associations. EAC has six regional branches: British Columbia; Prairie Provinces; Saskatchewan; Toronto; National Capital Region; and Quebec/Atlantic Canada, as well as five smaller branches (called twigs): Kitchener-Waterloo-Guelph, Ontario; Hamilton/Halton, Ontario; Kingston, Ontario; Peterborough, Ontario; and Nova Scotia.

Media Contact

Michelle Ou
Communications Manager
Editors’ Association of Canada
Association canadienne des réviseurs
416 975-1379 / 1 866 226-3348

To top