2009 Tom Fairley Award Short List Announced

Media Contact:
Michelle Ou
Communications Manager
Editors’ Association of Canada
Association canadienne des réviseurs
416 975-1379 / 1 866 226-3348


Toronto, May 3, 2010—Today the short list of candidates for the 2009 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence was announced by the Editors’ Association of Canada (EAC). Each year, this $2,000 award is given to an editor who has demonstrated exceptional skill and outstanding talent in helping to produce a work published in Canada in English or French.

The following finalists were selected by judges Heather Ebbs, Melva McLean and Bruce Porter. The finalists have been invited to attend a banquet on May 29, 2010, during the annual Editors’ Association of Canada conference in Montreal. At that time the winner of the 2009 Tom Fairley Award will be announced and the $2,000 cash prize presented.


Mary Reeve of Toronto, Ontario, for Math Focus 3 Student Book and In-class Activity Book by Marian Small (senior author) and Lenee Fyfe (Nelson Canada)

The judges commended Reeve’s work, noting that she managed the entire process from development to substantive editing, mentoring the stylistic and copy editors, and overseeing the design—all while respecting the contributions of two groups of authors and editors and synthesizing comments from the curriculum board.

Mary Lou Roy of Edmonton, Alberta, for People of the Lakes: Stories of our Van Tat Gwich’in Elders by Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation and Shirleen Smith (University of Alberta Press)

The judges praised Roy’s editing, which they said showed a high degree of cultural sensitivity as well as a commitment to accuracy and consistency in her work with Aboriginal language. Roy found creative solutions to the problems of integrating many stories and dealing with citations, all the while honouring the story’s subjects.

Donald Ward of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, for Negotiating the Numbered Treaties: A Political and Intellectual Biography of Alexander Morris by Robert J. Talbot (Purich Publishing Ltd.)

The judges lauded Ward’s significant editorial contribution in turning a Master’s thesis into a highly readable trade non-fiction book about a man who played a major role in a controversial part of Canada’s past. His editing included not just smoothing the text and enhancing the pace but also ensuring historical accuracy and being sensitive to First Nations’ voice and representation.

The judges for the 2009 Tom Fairley Award are experienced and respected Canadian editors. Heather Ebbs is an Ottawa-based editor, writer and indexer, and winner of the 1986 Tom Fairley Award. Melva McLean is a Vancouver-based freelance editor and winner of the 2008 Tom Fairley Award. Bruce Porter is a St. John’s-based writer and editor who, for more than 20 years, was the publisher and editor of the literary magazine, TickleAce.

The Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence was established in 1983 and is presented annually by EAC. The cash award of $2,000 is made possible by generous grants from EAC and several publishers: HarperCollins, Random House of Canada, Breakwater Books, Orca Book Publishers, UBC Press, Madison, the C.D. Howe Institute, New Society Publishers and the University of Calgary Press. Further information can be found on EAC’s Tom Fairley Award web page www.editors.ca/tomfairley/index.html.

– 30 –

About the Editors’ Association of Canada

The Editors’ Association of Canada/Association canadienne des réviseurs began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada to promote and maintain the highest standards of editing. EAC is the voice of editors in Canada, with 1,600 members, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, not-for-profit, education and publishing sectors. EAC’s professional development programs and services include seminars, certification, guidelines for fair pay and working conditions, an annual conference (May 28–30, 2010, in Montreal), and networking with other associations. EAC has six regional branches: British Columbia, Prairie Provinces, Saskatchewan, Toronto, National Capital Region and Quebec/Atlantic Canada. Please visit www.editors.ca.

To top