2010 Tom Fairley Award winner cooks up winning recipe for follow-up to a bestseller


Toronto, May 30, 2011—The Editors’ Association of Canada (EAC) is pleased to announce that Lucy Kenward of Vancouver, BC, is the winner of the 2010 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence. Kenward, a senior editor at D&M, was awarded the $2,000 prize for her work on Vij’s at Home: Relax, Honey by Meeru Dhalwala. The award was presented at EAC’s annual awards banquet, which took place on May 28, 2011, in Vancouver.

“I’m honoured,” says Kenward. “The list of Tom Fairley Award recipients is distinguished indeed, and to have other editors deem my work worthy of this award is thrilling.”

Vij’s at Home: Relax, Honey is the follow-up to a best-selling cookbook based on recipes from Vij’s Restaurant in Vancouver, which specializes in Indian cuisine. Kenward was involved in every aspect of editing the book, even cooking some of the recipes.

“At D&M, our in-house editors do generally own a project from concept to finished book, so it’s not unusual to be involved at every stage,” Kenward explains. “We feel this approach provides better continuity for the author, and consistency of vision.”

As for herself, Kenward loves taking a concept and working with other people to make it happen. “Drawing out [an author’s] knowledge and stories, polishing their prose, and working with our designers, production department, sales and marketing staff to turn that raw material into a beautiful, saleable artifact is always rewarding,” she says.

The other two editors shortlisted for their editorial excellence were Arlene Prunkl of Kelowna, BC, for Brain School: Stories of Children with Learning Disabilities by Howard Eaton (Glia Press) and Christine Wiesenthal of Edmonton, AB, for The Collected Works of Pat Lowther by Pat Lowther (posthumous) (NeWest Press).

Judges for the 2010 Tom Fairley Award were Mary Lou Roy of Edmonton, AB (2009 Tom Fairley Award winner), Carmelita McGrath of St. John’s, NL, and Frances Peck of Vancouver, BC.

The Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence, established in 1983 and presented annually by the Editors’ Association of Canada, recognizes the editor’s often invisible contribution to written communication. The cash award of $2,000 is made possible by grants from EAC and several publishers: HarperCollins, Random House of Canada, Breakwater Books, Orca Book Publishers, UBC Press, Madison, the C.D. Howe Institute, New Society Publishers and the University of Calgary Press. www.editors.ca/tomfairley/index.html

– 30 –

About the Editors’ Association of Canada

The Editors’ Association of Canada/Association canadienne des réviseurs began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada to promote and maintain high standards of editing. EAC is the voice of editors in Canada, with more than 1,600 members, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, not-for-profit and publishing sectors. EAC’s professional development programs and services include certification, an annual conference, seminars, guidelines for fair pay and working conditions, and networking with other associations. EAC has six regional branches: British Columbia, Prairie Provinces, Saskatchewan, Toronto, National Capital Region and Quebec/Atlantic Canada. www.editors.ca

Media Contact

Michelle Ou
Communications Manager
Editors’ Association of Canada
Association canadienne des réviseurs
416 975-1379 / 1 866 226-3348

To top