Cy Strom Named 2010 Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year

Media Contact:
Michelle Ou
Communications Manager
Editors’ Association of Canada
Association canadienne des réviseurs
416 975-1379 / 1 866 226-3348


Toronto, June 15, 2010—Toronto-based editor Cy Strom has been named as the recipient of the inaugural Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award, the Editors’ Association of Canada (EAC) has announced.

Strom was recognized for his continuing role in writing and then revising EAC’s Professional Editorial Standards (PES) and Proofreading: Meeting Professional Editorial Standards (Proofreading: MPES), both of which are essential publications for the editing profession. PES describes the skills editors should have, tells employers what to expect from the editors they hire, and helps post-secondary institutions and other training providers design courses and material on editing. Proofreading: MPES is one of four parts of a study program that allows editors to test their skills and learn by example.

Strom was also one of the editors who took the first steps to develop EAC’s landmark certification program, working on EAC’s first Proofreading pilot test and marking guide.

“He has volunteered a considerable amount of time and expertise to demanding, long-term projects that are central to EAC’s success,” says EAC president Michelle Boulton.

“In addition to overseeing projects, he also took on extra work himself when no volunteers were available,” Boulton adds. “Colleagues have reported that he was always pleasant to work with, in spite of the workload, and when things got really tough, he inspired team members to persist.”

Strom insists on sharing the honour with all of the volunteers he has worked with. “I really need to emphasize that I was working as part of a team,” he says. “This award rightfully belongs to all of us.”

He encourages volunteerism as a mutually beneficial relationship that supports both the organization and the individual’s professional development. Speaking of his years on EAC’s committee on professional standards, he says, “Its exceptional personnel have been my teachers throughout my career.”

Strom accepted the award at the conference of the Editors’ Association of Canada on May 29 in Montreal.

The Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award is the crown jewel of the new EAC President’s Awards for Volunteer Service. EAC is a not-for-profit organization sustained by the volunteer commitment of its members. These awards recognize the contributions made by member volunteers who generously contribute their time and energy and, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service.
Recipients of the 2010 President’s Award for Volunteer Service are:
Ursula Acton (Saskatoon, SK)
Barbara Dominik (Vancouver, BC)
Diane Ferland (Pointe-Claire, QC)
Randee Holmes (Port Credit, ON)
Krysia P. Lear (Guelph, ON)
Perry Millar (Saskatoon, SK)
Maureen Nicholson (Bowen Island, BC)
Wilfred Popoff (Saskatoon, SK)
Rosemary Tanner (Kenilworth, ON)
Ken Weinberg (Toronto, ON)

The EAC President’s Awards for Volunteer Service were established in 2010 by the Editors’ Association of Canada to recognize outstanding service to the organization.

From among the nominations received for the President’s Awards, one volunteer is selected to receive the Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award.

Lee d’Anjou is a founding member of the Editors’ Association of Canada and a guiding force in the association. She is a champion of professional standards of editing, a pioneer of EAC’s certification program, and one of the association’s most recognized and outstanding volunteers.

Additional information can be found on EAC’s President’s Award web page at

– 30 –

About the Editors’ Association of Canada

The Editors’ Association of Canada/Association canadienne des réviseurs began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada to promote and maintain the highest standards of editing. EAC is the voice of editors in Canada, with 1,600 members, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, not-for-profit, education and publishing sectors. EAC’s professional development programs and services include seminars, certification, guidelines for fair pay and working conditions, an annual conference and networking with other associations. EAC has six regional branches: British Columbia, Prairie Provinces, Saskatchewan, Toronto, National Capital Region and Quebec/Atlantic Canada. Please visit

To top