Editors Canada announces 2019 national awards and scholarship recipients


Toronto, June 10, 2019—The Editors’ Association of Canada (Editors Canada) has presented 5 national awards, including $4,400 in prize money, to 12 recipients. The awards were presented during the association’s 40th anniversary conference on Saturday, June 8, at the Westin Nova Scotian in Halifax.

Editors Canada’s annual awards recognize exceptional editors for their talent and dedication. The association supports the professional development of editors throughout their careers, and is proud to honour the outstanding editors and students in its midst. The cash awards are made possible by Editors Canada and its generous donors.

Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence

Headshot of Jennifer Croll

(Photo credit Rebecca Blissett)

Jennifer Croll (Vancouver, British Columbia) received the 2019 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence. Croll was awarded the $2,000 prize for her work on Buffy Sainte-Marie: The Authorized Biography by Andrea Warner (Greystone Books).


Headshot of Tracey L. Anderson

Tracey L. Anderson (Edmonton, Alberta)
Truth Be Told: An Anthology of Inspirational Stories by Women in the Law
edited by Jeananne K. Kirwin, Teresa R. Haykowsky and Sarah D. Eadie
(Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association, Jeananne Kirwin)

Headshot of Lesley Erickson

Lesley Erickson (Vancouver, British Columbia)
Truth and Conviction: Donald Marshall Jr. and the Mi’kmaw Quest for Justice
by L. Jane McMillan
(UBC Press)

The finalists each received cash awards of $500 in recognition of their outstanding achievements.

Read more.

Claudette Upton Scholarship

Headshot of Margo LaPierre

Margo LaPierre (Russell, Ontario) received the 2019 Claudette Upton Scholarship. LaPierre, a recent graduate of the Ryerson University Publishing Certificate program, published poet and freelance editor, was awarded the $1,000 prize to help support her continuing professional development in editing.

Read more.

Karen Virag Award

Headshot of Iva Cheung

Iva Cheung (New Westminster, British Columbia) received the 2019 Karen Virag Award. Cheung received the $400 cash prize for her “editorial excellence, intellectual striving, and the humour and breadth of her outreach beyond the traditional editorial community.”

Read more.

Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award

Headshot of Donna Dawson

The Editors Canada President’s Award for Volunteer Service recognizes outstanding service to the organization by member volunteers. From among the nominations received for the President’s Award, one nominee is selected to receive the Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award.

Donna L. Dawson (Aurora, Ontario) was named the Editors Canada Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year for 10 years of steadfast, reliable and highly skilled support to the association’s landmark professional certification program. During her tenure, she served for six years as test analyst, a role that is key in upholding the integrity of the program.

Recipients of the 2019 President’s Award for Volunteer Service are as follows.

Janine Harker (Editors Ottawa-Gatineau)
Sophie Pallotta (Editors Québec)
Lee Parpart (Editors Toronto)
Mary Rykov (Editors Toronto)
JJ Wilson (Editors Barrie)
Jacqui Woods-Powell (Editors Barrie)

Read more.

– 30 –

About Editors Canada

Additional information about Editors Canada awards can be found online.

Editors Canada began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada to promote and maintain high standards of editing. In 1994, the word “Freelance” was dropped to reflect the association’s expanding focus to serve both freelance and in-house editors. As Canada’s only national editorial association, it is the hub for 1,300 members and affiliates, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, not-for-profit and publishing sectors. The association’s professional development programs and services include professional certification, an annual conference, seminars, webinars, and networking with other associations. Editors Canada has five regional branches: British Columbia; Saskatchewan; Toronto; Ottawa–Gatineau; and Quebec, as well as smaller branches (called twigs) in Barrie, Calgary, Edmonton, Manitoba, Kitchener-Waterloo-Guelph, Hamilton/Halton, Kingston, Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland and Labrador.


Media contact

Michelle Ou
Senior Communications Manager
Editors Canada
416 975-1379 / 1 866 226-3348

To top