Editors Canada announces 2020 national awards and scholarship recipients


Toronto, June 22, 2020—The Editors’ Association of Canada (Editors Canada) has presented 5 national awards, including $4,400 in prize money, to 11 recipients.

Editors Canada’s annual awards recognize exceptional editors for their talent and dedication. The association supports the professional development of editors throughout their careers, and is proud to honour the outstanding editors and students in its midst. The cash awards are made possible by Editors Canada and its generous donors.

Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence

Headshot of Amanda Lewis

Amanda Lewis (Vancouver, British Columbia) received the 2020 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence. Lewis was awarded the $2,000 prize for her work on Indigenous Relations: Insights, Tips & Suggestions to Make Reconciliation a Reality by Bob Joseph with Cynthia F. Joseph (Page Two).


Headshot of Michael Leyne

Michael Leyne (Vancouver, British Columbia)
People Among the People: The Public Art of Susan Point
by Robert D. Watt
(Figure 1 Publishing)

Headshot of Adele Simmons

Adele Simmons (Calabogie, Ontario)
Walk the Green Fairways
by Katherine Stevenson Helleur
(Chestnut Lane Creative)

The finalists each received cash awards of $500 in recognition of their outstanding achievements.

Read more.

Claudette Upton Scholarship

Naomi Racz (Markham, Ontario) received the 2020 Claudette Upton Scholarship. Racz, a student in the Ryerson University Publishing Certificate program and co-founder of Stonecrop Review, a literary journal of urban nature writing, art and photography, was awarded the $1,000 prize to help support her continuing professional development in editing.

Read more.

Karen Virag Award

Headshot of Greg Loannou

Greg Ioannou (Toronto, Ontario) received the 2020 Karen Virag Award. Ioannou received the $400 cash prize for “enriching the editing community in multiple ways for more than 40 years.” During this time he created the Editors’ Association of Earth (EAE) Facebook group, conceptualized the first international editors conference in 2015 and has taught hundreds of students. Ioannou donated the prize money back to Editors Canada.

Read more.

Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award

The Editors Canada President’s Award for Volunteer Service recognizes outstanding service to the organization by member volunteers. From among the nominations received for the President’s Award, one nominee is selected to receive the Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award.

Headshot of Alexandra Peace

Alexandra Peace (Canning, Nova Scotia) was named the Editors Canada Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year for serving as recording secretary for the association’s national executive council (NEC) from 2014 to 2019. She was recognized not only for her dedication to this important work, but for the innovative changes and processes she developed that have led to lasting efficiency and effectiveness for the NEC, and increased transparency to Editors Canada members.

Recipients of the 2020 President’s Award for Volunteer Service are as follows.

Maxie Bai Martin (Editors Kitchener-Waterloo-Guelph)
Letitia Henville (Editors British Columbia)
Cathy McPhalen (Editors Edmonton)
Lynne Melcombe (Editors British Columbia)
Joanna Odrowaz (Editors Toronto)
Jim Taylor (Editors British Columbia)

Read more.

– 30 –

About Editors Canada

Additional information about Editors Canada awards can be found online.

Editors Canada began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada to promote and maintain high standards of editing. In 1994, the word “Freelance” was dropped to reflect the association’s expanding focus to serve both freelance and in-house editors. As Canada’s only national editorial association, it is the hub for 1,300 members and affiliates, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, not-for-profit and publishing sectors. The association’s professional development programs and services include professional certification, an annual conference, seminars, webinars, and networking with other associations. Editors Canada has five regional branches: British Columbia; Saskatchewan; Toronto; Ottawa–Gatineau; and Quebec, as well as smaller branches (called twigs) in Barrie, Calgary, Edmonton, Manitoba, Kitchener-Waterloo-Guelph, Hamilton/Halton, Kingston, Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland and Labrador.


Media contact

Michelle Ou
Senior Communications Manager
Editors Canada

To top