Exceptional editors recognized at 2016 Editors Canada awards ceremony


Toronto, June 13, 2016—The Editors’ Association of Canada (Editors Canada) has presented 4 national awards, including $4,500 in prize money, to 10 recipients. The ceremony took place at the association’s awards banquet on Saturday, June 11, at the Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites in Vancouver.

The Editors Canada awards banquet is an annual celebration recognizing exceptional editors for their talent and dedication. The association supports the professional development of editors throughout their careers, and is proud to honour the outstanding editors and students in its midst. The cash awards are made possible by Editors Canada and its generous donors.

Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence

Headshot of Lesley Peterson

Lesley Peterson (Florence, Alabama) received the 2015 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence. Peterson was awarded the $2,000 prize for her work on The Little Third Reich on Lake Superior: A History of Canadian Internment Camp R by Ernest Robert Zimmermann, Michel S. Beaulieu and David K. Ratz (University of Alberta Press).


Headshot of David Carpenter

David Carpenter (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan)
The Education of Augie Merasty: A Residential School Memoir by Joseph A. Merasty (University of Regina Press)

Headshot of Maggie Langrick

Maggie Langrick (Vancouver, British Columbia)
Shell: One Woman’s Final Year After a Lifelong Struggle with Anorexia and Bulimia by Michelle Stewart (Life Tree Media)

Headshot of Margaret Shaw

Margaret Shaw (Coquitlam, British Columbia)
The Meter Socket Handbook (Thomas & Betts Limited)

The finalists each received cash awards of $500 in recognition of their outstanding achievements.

Read more

Claudette Upton Scholarship

Headshot of Lindsay Vermeulen

Lindsay Vermeulen (Vancouver, British Columbia) received the 2015 Claudette Upton Scholarship. Vermeulen, a student at Simon Fraser University, editorial intern and freelance writer, was awarded the $1,000 prize to help support her continuing professional development in editing.

Read more

Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award

Headshot of Sandra Gravel

Sandra Gravel (Québec City, Quebec) was named the Editors Canada volunteer of the year for her role as the driving force behind the Programme d’agrément en révision linguistique – Réviseurs Canada (PARL), the country’s first French-language editing proficiency program.

The Editors Canada President’s Award for Volunteer Service recognizes outstanding service to the organization by member volunteers. From among the nominations received for the President’s Award, one nominee is selected to receive the Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award. Recipients of the 2016 President’s Award for Volunteer Service are as follows.

Benoit Arsenault (Québec City, QC)
Ellie Barton (Kingston, ON)
Catherine Baudin (Granby, QC)
Anissa Bouyahi (Laval, QC)
Katherine Duncombe (Saskatoon, SK)
Marie-Ève Laroche (Blainville, QC)
Anna Williams (Leduc County, AB)

Read more

– 30 –

About Editors Canada

Additional information about Editors Canada awards can be found online.

Editors Canada began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada to promote and maintain high standards of editing. In 1994, the word “Freelance” was dropped to reflect the association’s expanding focus to serve both freelance and in-house editors. As Canada’s only national editorial association, it is the hub for 1,500 members and affiliates, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, not-for-profit and publishing sectors. The association’s professional development programs and services include professional certification, an annual conference, seminars, guidelines for fair pay and working conditions, and networking with other associations. Editors Canada has six regional branches: British Columbia; Prairie Provinces (currently on hiatus); Saskatchewan; Toronto; Ottawa–Gatineau; and Quebec/Atlantic Canada, as well as smaller branches (called twigs) in Calgary, Alberta; Kitchener-Waterloo-Guelph, Ontario; Hamilton/Halton, Ontario; Kingston, Ontario; Nova Scotia; and Newfoundland and Labrador.


Media Contact

Michelle Ou
Communications Manager
Editors Canada
416 975-1379 / 1 866 226-3348

To top