Exceptional editors recognized at 2017 Editors Canada awards ceremony


Toronto, June 12, 2017—The Editors’ Association of Canada (Editors Canada) has presented 5 national awards, including $4,400 in prize money, to 20 recipients. The ceremony took place at the association’s awards banquet on Saturday, June 10, at the Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa.

The Editors Canada awards banquet is an annual celebration recognizing exceptional editors for their talent and dedication. The association supports the professional development of editors throughout their careers, and is proud to honour the outstanding editors and students in its midst. The cash awards are made possible by Editors Canada and its generous donors.

Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence

Dania Sheldon (Gabriola Island, British Columbia) received the 2016 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence. Sheldon was awarded the $2,000 prize for her work on Charles Gretton: Clock and Watchmaking Through the Golden Age by Dennis Radage, Warner Meinen and Laila Radage (Three O’Clock Publishing).


Barbara Berson (Toronto, Ontario)
The Heaviness of Things That Float by Jennifer Manuel (Douglas & McIntyre)

Amanda Lewis (Toronto, Ontario)
Yiddish for Pirates by Gary Barwin (Random House Canada)

The finalists each received cash awards of $500 in recognition of their outstanding achievements.

Read more.

Claudette Upton Scholarship

Irina Malakhova (Hamilton, Ontario) received the 2016 Claudette Upton Scholarship. Malakhova, a student in Ryerson University’s Publishing Program and a freelance copy editor, was awarded the $1,000 prize to help support her continuing professional development in editing.

Read more.

Karen Virag Award

Headshot of Virginia Durksen

Virginia Durksen (Calgary, Alberta) received the 2017 Karen Virag Award. Durksen was awarded a $400 cash prize and was recognized as an editing hero for championing editors in a career that has spanned more than 25 years.

Read more.

Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award

Jeanne McKane (Toronto, Ontario) was named the Editors Canada volunteer of the year for advocacy for professional recognition for editors and her leadership in the Editors Canada professional certification program.

The Editors Canada President’s Award for Volunteer Service recognizes outstanding service to the organization by member volunteers. From among the nominations received for the President’s Award, one nominee is selected to receive the Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award. Recipients of the 2017 President’s Award for Volunteer Service are as follows.

Catherine Baudin (Editors Quebec/Atlantic Canada)
Carolyn Brown (Editors Ottawa–Gatineau)
Kevin Burns (Editors Ottawa–Gatineau)
Carolyn Camilleri (Editors Toronto)
Dave Ealey (Editors Edmonton)
Patricia Furdek (Editors Ottawa–Gatineau)
Amy Haagsma (Editors British Columbia)
Anita Jenkins (Editors Edmonton)
Juliann Krushen (Editors British Columbia)
Janet MacMillan (Editors Toronto)
Christine Mains (Editors Calgary)
Virginia McGowan (Editors Nova Scotia)
Joanna Odrowaz (Editors Toronto)
Dawn Oosterhoff (Editors Ottawa–Gatineau)
Lynn Slobogian (Editors British Columbia)
Isobel Stevenson (Editors Toronto)

Read more.

– 30 –

About Editors Canada

Additional information about Editors Canada awards can be found online.

Editors Canada began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada to promote and maintain high standards of editing. In 1994, the word “Freelance” was dropped to reflect the association’s expanding focus to serve both freelance and in-house editors. As Canada’s only national editorial association, it is the hub for 1,300 members and affiliates, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, not-for-profit and publishing sectors. The association’s professional development programs and services include professional certification, an annual conference, seminars, webinars, guidelines for fair pay and working conditions, and networking with other associations. Editors Canada has five regional branches: British Columbia; Saskatchewan; Toronto; Ottawa–Gatineau; and Quebec/Atlantic Canada, as well as smaller branches (called twigs) in Calgary, Edmonton, Manitoba, Kitchener-Waterloo-Guelph, Hamilton/Halton, Kingston, Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland and Labrador.


Media Contact

Michelle Ou
Senior Communications Manager
Editors Canada
416 975-1379 / 1 866 226-3348

To top