Exceptional editors recognized at 2018 Editors Canada awards ceremony


Toronto, May 28, 2018—The Editors’ Association of Canada (Editors Canada) has presented 5 national awards, including $4,400 in prize money, to 15 recipients. The ceremony took place at the association’s awards banquet on Saturday, May 26, at the Radisson Hotel Saskatoon.

The Editors Canada awards banquet is an annual celebration recognizing exceptional editors for their talent and dedication. The association supports the professional development of editors throughout their careers, and is proud to honour the outstanding editors and students in its midst. The cash awards are made possible by Editors Canada and its generous donors.

Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence

Headshot of Gilles Vilasco

Gilles Vilasco (Montreal, Quebec) received the 2018 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence. Vilasco was awarded the $2,000 prize for his work on Le repos Saint-François d’Assise : 100 ans d’accompagnement, l’assurance d’une pérennité (Cimetière Le repos Saint‐François d’Assise).


Headshot of Lenore Hietkamp

Lenore Hietkamp (Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia)
The Embodied Violinist by Gwen Thompson-Robinow (Gwen Thompson-Robinow)

Headshot of Michelle van der Merwe

Michelle van der Merwe (Victoria, British Columbia)
The Language of Family: Stories of Bonds and Belonging (Royal BC Museum)

The finalists each received cash awards of $500 in recognition of their outstanding achievements.

Read more.

Claudette Upton Scholarship

Headshot of Letitia Henville

Letitia Henville (Vancouver, British Columbia) received the 2018 Claudette Upton Scholarship. Henville, a student in the Queen’s University Professional Editing Standards Certificate program and a research grants facilitator at the University of British Columbia, was awarded the $1,000 prize to help support her continuing professional development in editing.

Read more.

Karen Virag Award

Headshot of James Harbeck

James Harbeck (Toronto, Ontario) received the 2018 Karen Virag Award. Harbeck was awarded a $400 cash prize and was recognized as the working editor’s ambassador to the wider world. The award recognizes his work as an editing hero for elevating the profession in person, in print and on social media to a community that is regional, national and international.

Read more.

Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award

Headshot of Tamra Ross

The Editors Canada President’s Award for Volunteer Service recognizes outstanding service to the organization by member volunteers. From among the nominations received for the President’s Award, one nominee is selected to receive the Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award.

Tamra Ross (Calgary, Alberta) was named the Editors Canada Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year for her integral role in developing the Editors Canada webinar program, allowing editors to get their professional development online. She now manages the program, which has become one of the largest sources of revenue for the not-for-profit organization.

Recipients of the 2018 President’s Award for Volunteer Service are as follows.

Marsha Fine (Editors Ottawa–Gatineau)
Andrea Hatley (Editors Manitoba)
Diana Newton (Editors Québec)
Marie-Christine Payette (Editors Québec)
Jonathan Paterson (Editors Québec)
Suzanne Purkis (Editors Ottawa–Gatineau)
Stéphanie Robitaille (Editors Ottawa–Gatineau)
Karina Sinclair (Editors Hamilton-Halton)
Kaarina Stiff (Editors Ottawa–Gatineau)

Read more.

– 30 –

About Editors Canada

Additional information about Editors Canada awards can be found online.

Editors Canada began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada to promote and maintain high standards of editing. In 1994, the word “Freelance” was dropped to reflect the association’s expanding focus to serve both freelance and in-house editors. As Canada’s only national editorial association, it is the hub for 1,300 members and affiliates, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, not-for-profit and publishing sectors. The association’s professional development programs and services include professional certification, an annual conference, seminars, webinars, and networking with other associations. Editors Canada has five regional branches: British Columbia; Saskatchewan; Toronto; Ottawa–Gatineau; and Quebec, as well as smaller branches (called twigs) in Barrie, Calgary, Edmonton, Manitoba, Kitchener-Waterloo-Guelph, Hamilton/Halton, Kingston, Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland and Labrador.


Media contact

Michelle Ou
Senior Communications Manager
Editors Canada
416 975-1379 / 1 866 226-3348

To top