Karen Virag Award not presented in 2021


Toronto, June 28, 2021—The Editors’ Association of Canada (Editors Canada) has announced it will not present the Karen Virag Award in 2021 due to a lack of nominations. This marks the first year the award will not be presented since it was created in 2014 and first awarded in 2016.

“Editors Canada is proud to recognize exceptional editing talent and potential with our national awards,” says president Heather Buzila. “The Karen Virag Award plays a different role. It pays tribute to Karen by honouring those who promote the importance of the editing profession.”

Recognizing the editing heroes in our community

This $400 award was created in memory of long-time association member Karen Virag, and in recognition of her many contributions to the profession. The Karen Virag Award recognizes the efforts of an editor or an organization to raise the profile of editing in their community.

Karen Virag’s own outreach included her long-standing participation on the Cultural Human Resources Council as the Editors Canada representative and her frequent appearances on CBC Radio as one-half of the dynamic Grammar Gals duo with Virginia Durksen. She also served as the Editors Canada director of publications.

Virag travelled widely and was a lover of languages and fluent in many. She respected the power of the written word and was a published author across different genres. For 16 years, Virag was the supervising editor of publications for the Alberta Teachers’ Association. She was also a book reviewer for the Edmonton Journal and a writer for The Tomato, taught courses in grammar, and edited fiction and non-fiction works.

“Karen was a hero in our profession,” says Buzila. “I encourage everyone in our community to think about their own editing heroes when it’s time to nominate someone for the 2022 Karen Virag Award. Please help us recognize those who champion what editors do and who know how valuable we are.”

Nominations for the 2022 Karen Virag Award will open in December 2021.

– 30 –

About Editors Canada

Additional information about the Karen Virag Award is available on the Editors Canada website.

Editors Canada began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada to promote and maintain high standards of editing. In 1994, the word “Freelance” was dropped to reflect the association’s expanding focus to serve both freelance and in-house editors. As Canada’s only national editorial association, it is the hub for 1,300 members and affiliates, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, academic, not-for-profit and publishing sectors. The association’s professional development programs and services include professional certification, an annual conference, seminars, webinars, and networking with other associations. Editors Canada has five regional branches: British Columbia; Saskatchewan; Toronto; Ottawa–Gatineau; and Quebec, as well as smaller branches (called twigs) in Atlantic Canada, Barrie, Calgary, Edmonton, Hamilton-Halton, Kingston, Kitchener-Waterloo-Guelph and Manitoba.


Media contact

Michelle Ou
Senior Communications Manager
Editors Canada

To top