EAC: National e-news update, June 21, 2006

News, events, tips and updates for members of the Editors’ Association of Canada

In this issue:

1. TOM FAIRLEY AWARD: Organic living takes EAC editing prize
2. CERTIFICATION: Early-bird discount on Study Guide volumes
3. 2006 AGM: New membership categories, practice guidelines and branch policy
4. ELECTIONS: New national executive council and national committees

1. TOM FAIRLEY AWARD: Organic living takes EAC editing prize

This year’s winner of the Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence is Frank Condron of Toronto, Ontario, for his work on the book How to Go Further: A Guide to Simple Organic Living with Woody Harrelson and Friends.

The Tom Fairley Award panel praised Condron’s extensive work on this complex project and is pleased to congratulate Frank Condron for his success with this project and for exemplifying excellence in editing for a work published in 2005. Judges for the 2005 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence were 2004 winner Valerie Wyatt (Victoria) and EAC members Ann Fothergill-Brown (Eastern Ontario) and John Eerkes-Medrano (Victoria).

The Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence, established in 1983 and presented annually by the Editors’ Association of Canada, recognizes the editor’s often invisible contribution to written communication. The cash award of $2000 is made possible by grants from EAC and several publishers: HarperCollins, Random House of Canada, Breakwater Books, Orca Book Publishers, UBC Press, Madison, the C. D. Howe Institute, New Society Publishers and the University of Calgary Press.

TIP: Visit the Tom Fairley Award page for more information.

2. CERTIFICATION: Early-bird discount on Study Guide volumes

EAC Certification recognizes editors who have demonstrated a high level of knowledge and skill in their profession. The first two certification tests, in Elementary Knowledge of the Publishing Process and Proofreading, will be held on November 18, 2006, in EAC branch cities across Canada.

To guide editors through the certification process, EAC is publishing Editors’ Association of Canada Certification: Study Guide and Exemplars. The individual volumes of the Study Guide provide a comprehensive introduction to each of the certification tests.

EAC members receive a 10% discount on the listed purchase prices of Volumes 1 and 2 for orders placed on or before June 30. To place your order, see the attached order form.

3. 2006 AGM: New membership categories, practice guidelines and branch policy

EAC members passed a number of substantive motions at the June annual general meeting, including several that revise the association’s membership categories. Under the new

PDF icon Rules and Regulations No. 3: Membership Categories in the Association, EAC members will acquire voting rights after three years of continuous membership, and membership fee reductions will be offered for some categories. The new categories come into effect on October 1, 2006.

Other substantive motions passed at the AGM included:

Weren’t able to make it to the AGM? You can read the agenda and supporting documentation on the 2006 AGM page in the members’ area of the website. All motions listed on the agenda were passed (with one or two minor amendments). Draft minutes of the meeting will be posted to the site later in the summer and the approved versions of the two Rules and Regulations will be mailed to all members.

4. ELECTIONS: New national executive council and national committees

The 2006-2007 national executive council took office in June. Here’s who was elected at the AGM in Vancouver on June 10:

President: Maureen Nicholson, BC (returning for a second term)
Vice-president: Susan Davis, NCR (returning for a second term)
Secretary: Julie Cochrane, QAC (new to the position)
Treasurer: Greg Ioannou, TO (formerly secretary)
Member-at-large: Peter Moskos, BC (returning for a second term)
Member-at-large: Tom Vradenburg, NCR (returning for a third term)

The executive council also includes the following members who are not elected at the AGM:

Past president: Faith Gildenhuys, BC
BC branch representative: Daphne Sams
PP branch representative: Brendan Wild
SN branch representative: Michelle Boulton
TO branch representative: Alan Yoshioka
NCR branch representative: Moira White
QAC branch representative: Brian Parsons

Most of the association’s project and development work is done by national committees of members. The following members were elected to committee positions at the 2006 AGM:

List Monitor (English members’ email forum): Lee Hunter, NCR
Marketing and Public Relations Committee Chair: Kelly Parry, BC
Member Communication Committee Chair: Doug Linzey, QAC
Newsletter Committee Co-Chairs: Wilf Popoff and Michelle Boulton, SN

The following committee positions were appointed by the national executive council at its post-conference meeting on June 11-12:

Certification Steering Committee Co-Chairs: Ruth Wilson, BC, and Rosemary Tanner, TO
Website Committee Chair: Ken Weinberg, TO

A few committee positions are currently vacant; further appointments are expected to be made at the September national executive meeting.

The EAC National E-News Update is produced on behalf of the national executive council by the national office.

To top