EAC: National e-news update, June 2007

News, events, tips and updates for members of the Editors’ Association of Canada

In this issue:

1. TOM FAIRLEY AWARD: Audrey McClellan claims EAC editing prize
2. CONFERENCE ‘007: “Nobody does it better”
3. 2007 AGM: New Interactive Voice guidelines
4. ELECTIONS: New national executive council and national committees
5. EMAIL FORUM: Service update

1. TOM FAIRLEY AWARD: Audrey McClellan claims EAC editing prize

The 2006 winner of the Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence is Audrey McClellan of Victoria, BC, for her work on Judith Williams’s controversial book, Clam Gardens: Aboriginal Mariculture on Canada’s West Coast.

The Tom Fairley Award panel praised McClellan’s dedication and sensitivity to a controversial book that challenges the very notion of pre-contact West Coast indigenous peoples as exclusively hunter gatherers, theorizing instead that they were farmers who cultivated clams and plants, and preserved food for subsistence.

The panel also congratulated McClellan for her part in turning what could have easily been a simple academic study of a theory in aboriginal studies into something of a “quest” narrative. The finished book successfully conveyed Williams’s passion and her strong opinions, with McClellan guiding and focusing the author in communicating her scientific thoughts and ideas.

The Tom Fairley Award panel is pleased to congratulate Audrey McClellan for her success with this project and for exemplifying excellence in editing for a work published in 2006. Judges for the 2006 Tom Fairley Award were 2005 winner Frank Condron and EAC members Christine Hastie (QAC) and Peter Midgley (PP). Frank Condron is a published author and magazine editor for Rogers Media Inc. Christine Hastie writes and edits for web and print publication for Communications and Public Affairs at the Canadian Space Agency. Peter Midgley is the managing editor of the University of Alberta Press.

For further information, see the Tom Fairley Award page.

2. CONFERENCE ‘007: “Nobody does it better”

Editors from across the country converged at the Ottawa Congress Centre from June 1–3 to enjoy professional development seminars, mixing and mingling and, perhaps, a Vesper Martini or two. Conference ‘007 featured some of the best speakers and presenters in the industry, a certification update and an interactive closing plenary that tackled the heated “what an editor should (or could) charge” debate. Those in attendance at the Unlicensed Cabaret raised their voices together in song and also shared a laugh as the first ever Oops Awards were presented.

Thanks to all of the volunteers, presenters and attendees who helped to make the 2007 conference a rousing success. We hope to see you in Edmonton for Conference 2008: Editing in the Global Village.

REMINDER: If you attended Conference ‘007, don’t forget to return your completed feedback form by fax or mail to the national office by Friday, June 15. You’ll find contact details at the end of this broadcast.

3. 2007 AGM: New Interactive Voice guidelines

EAC members passed the

PDF icon Guidelines for Participation in Interactive Voice


PDF icon Forum Monitor Mandate

at the June annual general meeting. Like the member-ratified email list guidelines (2005), Guidelines for Participation in Interactive Voice serves as an operations guide for the association’s password-protected web-based forum. The Forum Monitor is charged with reminding members of their rights and responsibilities under the guidelines and enforcing decorum should such action become necessary.

Weren’t able to make it to the AGM? You can read the agenda and supporting documentation on the 2007 AGM page in the members’ area of the website. All motions listed on the agenda were passed. EAC members can expect to see draft minutes of the meeting on the website this summer.

*Please remember that all material in the members’ area is intended for members of EAC only. Please keep your username and password confidential.*

4. ELECTIONS: New national executive council and national committees

The 2007-08 national executive council took office in June. Here’s who was elected by EAC members at the AGM in Ottawa on June 2:

President: Moira White, NCR (formerly NCR branch representative)
Vice-president: Brendan Wild, PP (formerly PP branch representative)
Secretary: Julie Cochrane, QAC (returning for a second term)
Treasurer: Greg Ioannou, TO (returning for a second term)
Member-at-large: Brenda Belokrinicev, PP (new to the position)
Member-at-large: Krysia Lear, TO (new to the position)

The executive council also includes the following members who are not elected at the AGM:

Past president: Maureen Nicholson, BC
BC branch representative: Barbara K. Adamski
PP branch representative: Licia Paddison
SN branch representative: Michelle Boulton
TO branch representative: Mary Anne Carswell
NCR branch representative: Beverly Ensom
QAC branch representative: Blossom Thom

Most of the association’s project and development work is done by national committees of members. The following members were elected to committee positions at the 2007 AGM:

Francophone Affairs Committee Chair: Anna Olivier, QAC
List Monitor: Lee Hunter, NCR
Marketing and Public Relations Committee Chair: Holly Munn, BC
Membership Committee Chair: Heather Ebbs, NCR
Member Communication Committee Chair: Doug Linzey, QAC
Newsletter Committee Chair: Wilf Popoff and Michelle Boulton, SN

The following committee chairs were announced at the AGM and appointed at the subsequent meeting of the national executive council on June 4, 2007:

Certification Steering Committee Chair: Rosemary Tanner, TO
Conference Committee Chair: Karen Virag, PP
Forum Monitor: Alan Yoshioka, TO
Mediator: Jane Kidner, TO
Professional Standards Committee Chair: Frances Peck, BC
Website Committee Chair: Ken Weinberg, TO
External Liaison Committee Chair: Marta Horban, EAC executive director
Human Resources Committee Chair: Moira White, EAC president 
Nominating Committee Chair Association: Maureen Nicholson, EAC past president

The national executive council also appointed the following representatives to external organizations:

EAC’s director and delegate to the Book and Periodical Council: Stephanie Fysh, TO
EAC’s delegate to Cultural Human Resources Council: Karen Virag, PP
EAC’s delegate to Freedom of Expression Committee: Marg Anne Morrison, TO

The following committee positions are currently vacant.

Online Job Tools Committee Chair
Publications Committee Chair
Training and Development Committee Chair

You can find the mandates for all of these positions in the Get involved section of the association website.

Volunteering is a benefit of membership, and it’s the backbone of the association. Consider enriching your EAC experience by stepping forward for one of the vacant positions today. Contact Maureen Nicholson <nominations@editors.ca> for more information.

5. EMAIL FORUM: Service update

Some subscribers to EAC’s English-language email forum may be experiencing a disruption in service. The national office has been in touch with the association’s email provider, Web Networks, at increasingly senior levels, and it hopes to have the problem solved shortly. The national office apologizes for the inconvenience and thanks all members for their patience.

The EAC national e-news update is produced on behalf of the national executive council by the national office.

To top