Sandra Gravel named 2016 Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year


Toronto, June 13, 2016—The Editors’ Association of Canada (Editors Canada) has announced that Sandra Gravel of Québec City, Quebec, is the recipient of the 2016 Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award.

Headshot of Sandra Gravel

Gravel is the driving force behind the Programme d’agrément en révision linguistique – Réviseurs Canada (PARL), the country’s first French-language editing proficiency program. Gravel has been integral at every stage of developing the program: from first leading the team that updated the professional standards on which the program is based (Principes directeurs en révision professionnelle) and overseeing test and study guide design, to ultimately launching the program in 2015. Amazingly, Gravel and the Editors Canada Comité Agrément/Principes were able to bring PARL from concept to execution in just two short years. Today, she continues to oversee PARL and hosts information sessions about the program in Quebec.

“I’m deeply touched that my role in launching PARL and my contribution to Editors Canada are being recognized,” said Gravel in her acceptance speech. “This encourages me to continue working on this important program.”

The members who nominated Gravel said, “Thanks in large part to [her] energy, enthusiasm and tireless efforts, French-language editors now have a way to evaluate their competence in editing and can earn recognition from Editors Canada. [The PARL program] is not only the first of its kind in Canada, it is unique in the world, further establishing Editors Canada in a leadership role when it comes to editing standards and editorial professionalism.”

“I’m honoured and proud to receive this award,” said Gravel. “I have been a member of the Editors Canada national executive council before and I cannot begin to measure the magnitude of this association. I sincerely appreciate the dedication of the many people who volunteer their time.”

Established in 2010, the Editors Canada President’s Award for Volunteer Service recognizes outstanding service to the organization by member volunteers. From among the nominations received for the President’s Award, one nominee is selected to receive the Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award. Recipients of the 2016 President’s Award for Volunteer Service are as follows.

Benoit Arsenault (Québec City, Quebec)
Ellie Barton (Kingston, Ontario)
Catherine Baudin (Granby, Quebec)
Anissa Bouyahi (Laval, Quebec)
Katherine Duncombe (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan)
Marie-Ève Laroche (Blainville, Quebec)
Anna Williams (Leduc County, Alberta)

– 30 –

About Editors Canada

Lee d’Anjou is a founding member of the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada and remains a guiding force in the association now known as Editors Canada. She is a champion of professional standards of editing, a pioneer of the association’s certification program and one of the association’s most recognized and outstanding volunteers.

Additional information about the President’s Award for Volunteer Service and the Lee d’Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award can be found on the Editors Canada website.

Editors Canada began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors’ Association of Canada to promote and maintain high standards of editing. In 1994, the word “Freelance” was dropped to reflect the association’s expanding focus to serve both freelance and in-house editors. As Canada’s only national editorial association, it is the hub for 1,500 members and affiliates, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, not-for-profit and publishing sectors. The association’s professional development programs and services include professional certification, an annual conference, seminars, guidelines for fair pay and working conditions, and networking with other associations. Editors Canada has six regional branches: British Columbia; Prairie Provinces (currently on hiatus); Saskatchewan; Toronto; Ottawa–Gatineau; and Quebec/Atlantic Canada, as well as smaller branches (called twigs) in Calgary, Alberta; Kitchener-Waterloo-Guelph, Ontario; Hamilton/Halton, Ontario; Kingston, Ontario; Nova Scotia; and Newfoundland and Labrador.

Media Contact

Michelle Ou
Communications Manager
Editors Canada
416 975-1379 / 1 866 226-3348

To top